## MINUTES OF THE 2023 ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS

The 78<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Members of Western Cooperative Electric Association, Inc. was held at the Western Cooperative Electric office in WaKeeney, Kansas, on May 10, 2023.

Following Pastor Jon Anderson's Invocation, the members enjoyed a meal served by the Western employees and prepared by Main Dish Hometown Catering.

Prior to the meeting, members watched a short video summarizing the meeting theme of 'Power and People.'

Assistant General Manager/ Member Services Manager Nolan Numrich led the Pledge of Allegiance and acknowledged the veterans in attendance. President Craig Crossland called the meeting to order and introduced the Board Members and their spouses, distinguished guests, and employees.

Upon introducing the Legislators in attendance, President Crossland offered them the opportunity to address the membership. Sen. Rick Billinger, Sen. Rick Wilborn, Rep. Barb Wasinger, Rep. Ken Rahjes, and Rep. Jim Minnix spoke on several issues facing Kansans.

Legal counsel E. Jay Deines of Deines & Deines reported that 77 members were present; thus, a quorum was in attendance. Deines confirmed the Notice of the Meeting and Postage Statement gave the members proper notice of the meeting as required in the bylaws.

General Manager Tom Ruth introduced guest speaker Todd Hillman as the recently appointed CEO of Sunflower Electric Power Corporation. Hillman gave the members his background and addressed various topics facing generation and transmission.

Tom Ruth reported on the current status, financial strength, and operation of Western Cooperative Electric.

Members received the published treasurer's report in the Annual Report and approved it as printed by the vote of the members present.

E. Jay Deines introduced the Nominating and Credentials Committees appointed by the Board pursuant to the Western bylaws. Deines announced the election results of three districts. Terry Hobbs, Richard Schaus, and Dale Weinhold received the most votes and were elected to three-year terms.

President Crossland provided a Chairman's Report and then presented years of service milestone awards to Terry Hobbs (30 years), Landon Heier (5 years), and Marvin Keller (5 years).

The minutes of the 77th Annual Meeting held on May 11, 2022, were approved as printed by a vote of the members present.

President Crossland asked the members if any old business needed to be addressed. Hearing none, President Crossland moved on to new business. The membership brought forward no new business.

Door prizes were then announced and distributed.

President Crossland adjourned the meeting.