## MINUTES OF 2024 ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS

The 79th Annual Meeting of Members of Western Cooperative Electric Association, Inc. was held at the Western Cooperative Electric office in WaKeeney, Kansas, on May 8, 2024.

Following Pastor Jon Anderson's Invocation, the members enjoyed a meal served by the Western employees and prepared by Main Dish Hometown Catering.

Prior to the meeting, members watched a short video summarizing the meeting theme of "Wired For Success".

Assistant General Manager/Member Services Manager Nolan Numrich led the Pledge of Allegiance and acknowledged the veterans in attendance. Board President Nick Zerr called the meeting to order and introduced the Board Members and their spouses, distinguished guests, and employees.

Upon introducing the Legislators in attendance, President Zerr offered them the opportunity to address the membership. Sen. Rick Billinger, Rep. Barb Wasinger, Rep. Ken Rahjes, and Rep. Jim Minnix spoke on several issues facing Kansans. Also present was Reid Petty representing Senator Jerry Moran's office.

Legal counsel, E. Jay Deines of Deines & Deines reported that 66 members were present; thus, a quorum was in attendance. Deines confirmed the Notice of the Meeting and Postage Statement, provided the members with proper notice of the meeting as required in the bylaws.

General Manager Tom Ruth introduced guest speaker Lee Tafanelli as the recently appointed CEO of the Kansas Electric Cooperatives. Lee Taffanelli gave the members his background and addressed various topics facing generation and transmission.

Ruth then reported on the current status, financial strength and operation of Western Cooperative Electric.

Members received the published treasurer's report in the Annual Report and approved it as printed by the vote of the members present.

Deines introduced the Nominating and Credentials Committees appointed by the Board pursuant to the Western bylaws. Deines announced the election results of three districts. Marvin Keller, Tim Stanton and Landon Heier received the most votes, and were elected to three-year terms.

President Zerr provided a chairman's report and then presented years of service milestone awards to Dale Weinhold, 10 years; Craig Crossland, 20 years; and Richard Schaus, 50 years.

The minutes of the  $78^{th}$  Annual Meeting held on May 10, 2023, were approved as printed by a vote of the members present.

President Zerr asked the members if any old business needed to be addressed. Hearing none, President Zerr moved on to new business. The membership brought forward no new business.

Door prizes were then announced and distributed. President Zerr adjourned the meeting.